top of page

Welcome to the Revolution

Welcome to our blog! "Get Nekkid" is a space for us as a community to unveil and heal through storytelling, education, and art. This blog will be the backbone of Rebel (v.) Apparel brand, fueling the movement that the garment designs were birthed from. Expect truth, expect love, expect pain, expect joy here; for we celebrate all the intersections of life and hope to provide you a space to rest. Thank you for your support, I pray for your continuous rebirth.


I am learning that loving me and being me is a revolution all in itself. Taking ownership over my life, my mind, my heart, and my body are leading me on a journey of understanding. And it’s not just about me, taking care of myself reminds my mama to take care of herself, gives my man the space to grow and learn within himself, inspires my closest friends to treat themselves with patience and tenderness.


This past year has taught me to be unapologetic in all that I am and all that I am becoming. Being unapologetically black, unapologetically feminine, unapologetically empowered, unapologetically sexual, unapologetically brilliant, unapologetically spiritual. And if you can’t rock with it, I pray you find what you are looking for and peace follows you in every step of your journey.


I can feel my revolution deep down inside of me. Boiling up through every vein in my body. It's never been something stagnant but it damn sure has never felt this big or has shifted with this much energy. In the beginning, it felt more like a tickle or an itch. Short phrases from my mother’s and grandmother’s mouths. Quiet passages of scripture. Small tears pulling at my tear duct. Over time it's gotten bigger. Like when it exploded and I realized I am the true author of my life, I control nothing but myself and have nothing if I do not have me. Now the revolution is the actualization of this. It is me shedding my clothes for a deeper appreciation of this body. It is this tattoo on my left bicep, reminding me that God is no farther than my own skin. It is my demand for solitude and quiet contemplation. It is the abandonment of all those thought processes, people, ideologies, foods, spaces that no longer serve me. It is the arsenal of knowledge I am collecting that will ultimately help set us free. It is the reveal of my story, piece by piece, page by page, tragedy turned to triumph. And that's what I hope to do here. Reveal, heal, repeat. So that someone may also begin to find the Truth within themselves.


-----------------------------------------------------


Martissa Williams: Student of love and life, Martissa is the womyn behind Rebel (v.) Apparel and Get Nekkid.  A full time student, working toward her Bachelors in Gender, Sexuality and Women's studies, her life work is to assist in the healing of womyn, specifically womyn of color, who find themselves struggling at the intersections of poverty, addiction, discrimination and fear. 


Email: martissawilliams@rebelvapparel.com


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page